Page 1 of 42

WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:06 am
by uakf.b
We're excited to announce WC3Connect, a major improvement over ENT Connect that allows you to easily join ENT and MakeMeHost games using a desktop application.

If you’ve updated your client, here are the WC3 1.30.1 client download links should you wish to use our services.
Windows - Google Drive
Mac - Google Drive

WC3Connect client download links
Download link for Windows: wc3connect.exe
Download link for Mac OS X: wc3connect-osx.zip
Download link for Linux: wc3connect-amd64
Cross-platform Java version (use this if the .exe doesn't work): wc3connect.jar (you'll need to first get Java here)
Source code: WC3Connect-Java (Github)
Need help? Check the Wiki, a Youtube video, the FAQ, or Join our Discord

To get started:


Please let us know if you have feedback or questions! Also check the Wiki.

Basic tips:
  • There are four tabs: Public (host.entgaming.net / MMH), ENT Autohost (e.g. DotA, Legion TD Mega), Others, and Unmoderated.
  • By default, several lobbies will be shown in the LAN gamelist, and it could be hard to find the desired game. If you click a game in the WC3Connect app, the Warcraft III LAN gamelist will only show that game.

Planned features:
  • Some kind of integrated chat system for players who don't use e.g. discord
  • Setting to play alert when game finishes loading
  • Show games that player has played before in a separate tab (similar to top section of website games list)
  • Remember me for login
  • Confirmation when closing and you're in-game
  • Show something if account already validated

Known bugs:
  • Earlier version did not work on pre-Windows-8 or 32-bit, newest version works on both

Changelog:
  • 2018101401: WC3Connect accounts are now separate from forum accounts
  • 2018101101/2018101301: add MMH and other games
  • 2018101001: fix another occasional crash on reconnect
  • 2018100501: fix sporadic crash problem

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:50 pm
by Curt
i am kinda stuck on the authenticating part, is it already functional?

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:56 pm
by Unitil
If you’re stuck on the authenticating screen, simply restart your wc3connect client. Should work fine afterwards.

@Curt

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:03 pm
by Augustinus
Kinda sad though that probably no new player will ever find us then.

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:20 pm
by carlo_rossi
i get an error and then get directed to this page on the app and it cant run script and im stuck

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:29 pm
by Sylvanas
Is it gonna be possible to have two wc3s, one that's updated and one that isn't?

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:29 pm
by KiwiLeKiller
So we should not update to 1.30.2 then? What if we want to play other games (not hosted on bots) for example?

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:37 pm
by gloom
Any way of using it on mac natively, or any plan on giving support to mac at some point?

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:41 pm
by uakf.b
@Curt @carlo_rossi what version of Windows are you on? carlo_rossi can you attach screenshot of the script error?

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:41 pm
by uakf.b
gloom wrote:Any way of using it on mac natively, or any plan on giving support to mac at some point?

Most of the code is cross-platform so I think we can release Mac OS X version later this week.

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:45 pm
by uakf.b
Sylvanas wrote:Is it gonna be possible to have two wc3s, one that's updated and one that isn't?

I think you could just copy your C:\Program Files\Warcraft III directory. Then use the copy for WC3Connect, and use the original for Battle.net

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:46 pm
by Curt
uakf.b wrote:@Curt @carlo_rossi what version of Windows are you on? carlo_rossi can you attach screenshot of the script error?


https://imgur.com/aMrc2zM

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:49 pm
by Sylvanas
uakf.b wrote:I think you could just copy your C:\Program Files\Warcraft III directory. Then use the copy for WC3Connect, and use the original for Battle.net

Probably. I don't really know why I asked.

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:52 pm
by uakf.b
@Curt even if you restart the wc3connect.exe is it still stuck on "Authenticating" / forum?

Re: WC3Connect

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:59 pm
by pinheadlarry
First of all, glad to see the proactive approach! Thanks for the hard work! I know battlefield 1942 did the same kind of thing after gamespy shutdown and it is still alive today, so I hope the player base will follow!

3 questions:

1. Would it make more sense to roll back to an even earlier version? I know there are a couple of new maps since the new versions came out, but we also lost A LOT of maps after 1.29.

2. Does it work like the old dotacash client? (What type of protocol does it use to establish the connection?)

3. Can 2 people on the same lan use the client simultaneously?