WC3Connect

News about Enterprise Gaming.
uakf.b
Staff Department
Posts: 7829
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 124 times

WC3Connect

Postby uakf.b » Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:06 am

We're excited to announce WC3Connect, a major improvement over ENT Connect that allows you to easily join ENT and MakeMeHost games using a desktop application.

If you’ve updated your client, here are the WC3 1.30.1 client download links should you wish to use our services.

Game Download - Patch 1.30.1 : Does not include CD-keys
Windows - Google Drive || MEGA || MegaUp
Mac - Google Drive || Install instructions : Wiki OSX Install
Note: Only launch the game via Warcraft III.exe as the Launcher.exe will update your client.

WC3Connect client download links
Download link for Windows: wc3connect.exe
Download link for Mac OS X: wc3connect-osx.zip
Download link for Linux: wc3connect-amd64
Cross-platform Java version (use this if the .exe doesn't work): wc3connect.jar (you'll need to first get Java here)
Source code: WC3Connect-Java (Github)
Need help? Check the Wiki, a Youtube video, the FAQ, or Join our Discord

To get started:

  • Download wc3connect.exe
  • Run wc3connect.exe
  • Create an account: type a username and password, then click the Sign Up button
  • Login: type the same username and password again, and press enter or click Login
  • Go to Autohost tab, and click on a game
  • Launch WC3, go to "Local Area Network", and join the game

Please let us know if you have feedback or questions! Also check the Wiki.

Basic tips:
  • There are four tabs: Public (host.entgaming.net / MMH), ENT Autohost (e.g. DotA, Legion TD Mega), Others, and Unmoderated.
  • By default, several lobbies will be shown in the LAN gamelist, and it could be hard to find the desired game. If you click a game in the WC3Connect app, the Warcraft III LAN gamelist will only show that game.
  • Start WC3 from "Warcraft III.exe", not the launcher. The launcher will update your WC3 past what is supported on ENT.
These users thanked the author uakf.b for the post (total 2):
wolfjkl (Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:55 pm) • ZxlShaco (Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:54 pm)
dWFrZi5i -- 'cause I'm cool like Agreements

Curt
Resource Storage
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: WC3Connect

Postby Curt » Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:50 pm

i am kinda stuck on the authenticating part, is it already functional?

Unitil
Oversight Staff
Posts: 4995
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:56 am
Location: Canada
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby Unitil » Tue Oct 02, 2018 10:56 pm

If you’re stuck on the authenticating screen, simply restart your wc3connect client. Should work fine afterwards.

@Curt

Augustinus
Treant Protector
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby Augustinus » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:03 pm

Kinda sad though that probably no new player will ever find us then.

User avatar
carlo_rossi
Aura Tree
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:28 am
Location: California

Re: WC3Connect

Postby carlo_rossi » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:20 pm

i get an error and then get directed to this page on the app and it cant run script and im stuck

Sylvanas
Treant Protector
Posts: 974
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:56 am
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby Sylvanas » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:29 pm

Is it gonna be possible to have two wc3s, one that's updated and one that isn't?

KiwiLeKiller
Treant Protector
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 12:44 am
Has thanked: 166 times
Been thanked: 120 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby KiwiLeKiller » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:29 pm

So we should not update to 1.30.2 then? What if we want to play other games (not hosted on bots) for example?
"in a moment of extreme passion"
- Beastman (2017)

gloom
Resource Storage
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:38 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby gloom » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:37 pm

Any way of using it on mac natively, or any plan on giving support to mac at some point?

uakf.b
Staff Department
Posts: 7829
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby uakf.b » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:41 pm

@Curt @carlo_rossi what version of Windows are you on? carlo_rossi can you attach screenshot of the script error?
dWFrZi5i -- 'cause I'm cool like Agreements

uakf.b
Staff Department
Posts: 7829
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby uakf.b » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:41 pm

gloom wrote:Any way of using it on mac natively, or any plan on giving support to mac at some point?

Most of the code is cross-platform so I think we can release Mac OS X version later this week.
dWFrZi5i -- 'cause I'm cool like Agreements

uakf.b
Staff Department
Posts: 7829
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby uakf.b » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:45 pm

Sylvanas wrote:Is it gonna be possible to have two wc3s, one that's updated and one that isn't?

I think you could just copy your C:\Program Files\Warcraft III directory. Then use the copy for WC3Connect, and use the original for Battle.net
dWFrZi5i -- 'cause I'm cool like Agreements

Curt
Resource Storage
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: WC3Connect

Postby Curt » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:46 pm

uakf.b wrote:@Curt @carlo_rossi what version of Windows are you on? carlo_rossi can you attach screenshot of the script error?


https://imgur.com/aMrc2zM

Sylvanas
Treant Protector
Posts: 974
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:56 am
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby Sylvanas » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:49 pm

uakf.b wrote:I think you could just copy your C:\Program Files\Warcraft III directory. Then use the copy for WC3Connect, and use the original for Battle.net

Probably. I don't really know why I asked.

uakf.b
Staff Department
Posts: 7829
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby uakf.b » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:52 pm

@Curt even if you restart the wc3connect.exe is it still stuck on "Authenticating" / forum?
dWFrZi5i -- 'cause I'm cool like Agreements

pinheadlarry
Forest Walker
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:31 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: WC3Connect

Postby pinheadlarry » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:59 pm

First of all, glad to see the proactive approach! Thanks for the hard work! I know battlefield 1942 did the same kind of thing after gamespy shutdown and it is still alive today, so I hope the player base will follow!

3 questions:

1. Would it make more sense to roll back to an even earlier version? I know there are a couple of new maps since the new versions came out, but we also lost A LOT of maps after 1.29.

2. Does it work like the old dotacash client? (What type of protocol does it use to establish the connection?)

3. Can 2 people on the same lan use the client simultaneously?


Return to “News and Updates”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest